European Commission
Seventh Framework Programme
Home Work packages Training Meetings Announcements Publications


The PiroVac consortium represents a network of laboratories and scientists with expertise in small ruminant piroplasmosis, bringing together key academic, research centre and industry scientists with extensive experience in different aspects of tick-borne disease.

The consortium was constructed to ensure that the research expertise of the participants was complementary and encompassed the disciplines of immunology, molecular biology, molecular genetics, genomics, bioinformatics, epidemiology, serology and parasitology.

The majority of the participants have been involved in previous EU-funded projects dealing with ticks and tick-borne diseases. Other members were invited onto the consortium because of their expertise in tick-borne disease, Plasmodium research or in other areas such as genome sequencing and the genetic basis of host immune response. The industrial participant, Intervet, has excellent experience in the development and delivery of vaccines.

Importantly, the PiroVac project will forge links between European scientists and researchers in China, Central Asia and Latin America where small ruminant piroplasmosis is endemic.



1. Forschungszentrum Borstel, Germany (FZB) co-ordinator
Professor Jabbar Ahmed and Professor Ulrike Seitzer

2. University of Glasgow, UK (UGLA)
Professor Andy Tait, Professor Brian Shiels and Dr William Weir

3. Lanzhou Veterinary Research Institute, China (LVRI)
Professor Yin Hong

4. Bernhard Nocht Institut fur Tropenmedizin, Germany (BNITM)
Dr Volker Heussler

5. Institut National de la Sante et de la Recherche Medicale, France (INSERM)
Professor Gordon Langsley

6. Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, The Kimron Veterinary Institute, Israel (KVI)
Dr Varda Shkap

7. Universitaet Bern, Switzerland (UNIBE)
Professor Dirk Dobbelaere

8. The Royal Veterinary College, UK (RVC)
Professor Declan McKeever

9. Adnan Menderes University, Turkey (ADU)
Dr Tulin Karagenc

10. The University of Edinburgh, UK (UE)
Professor Ivan Morrison and Professor Liz Glass

11. Parco Tecnologico Padano s.r.l., ltaly (PTP)
Dr John Williams

12. Instituto de Biologia Experimental e Tecnologica, Portugal (IBET)
Dr Abel Martín González Oliva and Professor Virgílio Estólio do Rosário

13. Ecole Nationale Veterinaire de Nantes, France (ENVN)
Professor Alain Chauvin

14. Centro de Investigaciones en Ciencias Veterinarias y Agronomicas, Argentina (CICVyA)
Dr Monica Florin-Christensen and Dr Leonhard Schnittger

15. Intervet International B.V., Netherlands
Professor Theo Schetters